Wiretap – funny and poignant

by Radio Somewhere

I found Wiretap by accident around six years ago, while I was being inadvertently being weaned off TV, but before I took to podcasts for my major form of entertainment. I found an interesting radio station that seems to have since disappeared. It broadcast some NPR staples, along with offerings from PRI, CBC Radio, and the BBC World Service. Wiretap, a production of CBC Radio, was played on Saturday at 11am, and I enjoyed it before going to work (was in retail at the time.)

The show, presented by Jonathan Goldstein, features monologues, storytelling, interviews, and mind-numbing, head-spinning phone conversations with Jonathan’s friends and parents. (I could actually do without the phone calls, although the parents are a crack-up.)

Jonathan’s monologues, delivered in a dry monotone, are funny and sad at the same time, visiting the insecurities of human relationships, and the biggest relationship of all — the one tries to have, or not have, with God.

Monologues and story readings by wonderfully talented guests are given generous accommodation, sometimes taking up a good chunk of the program time. And there’s the occasional performance recorded with a live audience.

I’ve listened to all kinds of podcasts in the last four years, and, although I find myself taking an occasional break from it while I explore new podcast finds, Wiretap has a uniqueness to it that keeps me returning.

