Bus banjo player strikes the right note

by Radio Somewhere

I have to confess that I’m not much of a music fan – to the extent that I have no music on my iPhone – just podcasts! A lot of music just plain irritates me, even if it’s not loud. (I really hate riding on the bus and having to hear the tinny beat emanating from someone’s earbuds.) What I dislike most is music that’s very predictable. That can mean music that’s so overly simplistic that even my non-musician ear can anticipate what’s coming next; or, music I’ve heard so many times that I know it by heart, such as any chart hits from the 60s, 70s or 80s – which somehow, I’m still hearing everywhere I go!

But I was pleasantly surprised this evening when a young man boarded the bus carrying a banjo and sat down near me on the back seat. He started picking away in a very relaxed manner – just notes at random – and it was wonderfully soothing. A rather harmonious sound for the beat-up old bus we were riding in – and a nice way to wind down on the way home from work.

Now, if he insists on singing, I might get pissed off – but the casual picking is totally cool:)

