Kids’n’sushi -a happy combo!

by Radio Somewhere

I’m usually not fond of either! But, I’m
somehow always impressed when I see a family group enjoying sushi.

For years, one of my favorite hangouts has been the coffee shop/dining area at Metropolitan Market in the Admiral District of West Seattle. Metropolitan Market is a small, independent grocery store chain that appeals to foodies – but without the holier-than-thou aspect of certain competitors. When I earn a good paycheck, I do much of my grocery shopping there; but right now, money is tight so I go across the street to Safeway where I have an effective strategy with the J4U Savings:) In the meantime, my budget does stretch to an Americano at the Met Market coffee shop.

Met Market does a busy lunch and early-dinner trade thanks to an impressive array of takeout food options: buffet, deli, sandwich bar, soup bar – AND – a very eye-pleasing sushi assortment. The seating areas have been expanded over the years, and as new indoor furniture has been acquired, the old tables and chairs have found their way to spots outside, including the garden area, where you can enjoy your meal surrounded by trays of seedlings and bags of potting soil. In summer it’s quite lovely!

Anyway, today I was at my favorite table inside, from where I can look down at the checkout area and bakery counter. A family with two children took the next table – and I knew I would not need to relocate myself, because Dad produced several trays of sushi from the shopping bag. It is my observation that kids who enjoy sushi are very well raised and know to behave in public – especially when eating a meal. The younger child was small enough to be in a high chair and mainly gnawed on a bread roll – but I did spot a few pieces of what looked like shrimp on the little tray table.

Now, I will admit that this family was probably rather affluent. But most of the families who patronize this place are – and half the time, you end up having to leave because the kids (usually eating chicken nuggets) are out of control. But not the sushi eaters! And I have seen more obviously low-income parents treating kids to sushi on a special occasion, such as a birthday.

I’m a vegetarian myself and so don’t partake of the sushi experience very often. But it’s fun to go to one of those restaurants with the mile-long conveyor belt. And despite the fast-food mode of delivery, it feels surprisingly civilized and relaxed. And people are usually well behaved.

Is it perhaps because the food is so pleasing to the eye? Or is it because it is just unusual enough to remove people from their comfort zone and command their respect?

One way or another, we perhaps needs more of it.

